Look at Both Sides Now

Home » Art » Apprenticeships: do we want them and do they still exist?

Apprenticeships: do we want them and do they still exist?

LABSN Editor’s Note: Having served a six-year apprenticeship in letterpress printing, I found this article interesting. It speaks of the willingness of today’s society to accept less than top quality.

Bookish Things to think about

I have to perform this week: I am making two books for two experienced bookbinders. I need to be better than my best. But I feel like a beginner.

I was just saying to my students last night that I wished I could do an apprenticeship, a “stage” or internship with a bookbinder somewhere. However at just over 50 years old, who would want me?  I don’t mean it to sound bad; I am being realistic. It costs money to train someone.   I consider myself  an advanced beginner. Although I learned much of my skills at the bench, I have gotten to where I am by teaching myself, by reading, by attending the occasional workshop. I need more bookbinding hours under my belt.  And I am the sort of person who needs a teacher at hand. It’s not that I wish to be younger, it’s about having more time.  What…

View original post 725 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

