Look at Both Sides Now

Home » Body Image » A “newbie’s” first visit to a nude beach

A “newbie’s” first visit to a nude beach

A friend wrote to me about his first time visiting a nude beach. I thought he expressed the feeling many of us have on our first visit and I asked him if I could post it on my blog. Let me know what you all think. The photo below is of me at Playalinda Beach, since I don’t have one of my friend.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Went to Playalinda (Florida) and when I arrived there were no signs indicating clothing optional. I met a man coming down the ramp to the parking lot and I cautiously asked if this was “the” place and he said it was. I asked if he had gone nude on the beach and he readily answered that he had and that he and his wife often came together.

I must say that it was one of the most amazing experiences I’ve had. When I first got on the beach I don’t think I went more than 20 feet from the bottom of the ramp when I claimed my spot. I arrived just before noon on a Thursday. It was a beautiful day and the beach was pretty full.

Since this was my first experience, I didn’t know what to expect. My main concern was a run-in with the law so at first I was apprehensive about getting more than 10 feet from my space.

When I took my place on the beach, I just sat under my umbrella and observed what everyone else was doing. I could not get over how natural and normal the whole thing was.

After a short while, when I was confident there was no fear of arrest I casually undressed and joined in with the beach activity.

I am still amazed at the transformation that takes place when you get to the bottom of that ramp. It’s like going through a magical portal that allows you to be as free and real with yourself as possible. You don’t have to worry “if this suit makes me look fat?” The answer is “NO” you do that all by yourself”.

I believe that body acceptance is a very important thing. And it is obvious that in that environment and under those conditions, you obviously learn to accept yourself as you are as well as those around you.

I wanted to tell you immediately about my first visit but I did not have access to the internet while I was away.

When I returned home after the first visit, I still could not believe that I actually had the experience, so I went back on Sunday. It WAS real.

Tuesday came and I went very early to Apollo beach so I could claim one of the “29 parking spots in lot 5”. My rush was unnecessary because I found it to be almost abandoned.

I did meet a nice guy in the parking lot and we sort of became beach buddies for a few hours.

Went back again later in the week but was not impressed because there was hardly anyone there.

I found the whole experience wonderful and something that I regret I had not discovered long ago.

I was able to go to Playalinda twice more and the last time I actually persuaded my wife to go with me. She went hesitantly and even though the only thing she took off was her shoes, she came to understand my amazement and appreciation for the whole thing.

I met some wonderful people and engaged in many conversations. As I sit here writing you this report, it still seems almost like a dream but I know it is a reality. I have the tan and red skin to prove it and a memory full of wonderful experiences. I don’t know when I will be able to return but I certainly look forward to the times when I can.

This clueless ‘newbie’ ended up having the time of his life. Anyone who criticizes the idea of clothing optional without first experiencing it deprives themselves (and others) of a wonderful, fulfilling experience. I learned so much and my life is all the more richer for it!

18 Comments

  1. nudemarc says:

    Reblogged this on Nu et heureux – Naked and Happy and commented:
    Thank you for sharing and welcome to the wonderful world of naturism. You’ll never be able to go back to a textile beach anymore. Take care and enjoy your newly discovered freedom!

  2. Great story! If i may make a suggestion to check out in Florida, check out Cypress Cove or Haulover Beach! You can get alot more information where they are and more places to go on AANR’s website! http://www.aanr.com

    • CarloMario says:

      Thanks for the information. I’ve already passed on these recommendations to my friend. Cypress Cove has always been one of my favorite resorts, and Haulover is amazing.

  3. Reblogged this on The Naturist Page and commented:
    Nice first time story

  4. […] A “newbie’s” first visit to a nude beach. […]

  5. ozcloggie says:

    Reblogged this on Ozcloggie's Blog and commented:
    We’re just people with basic human bodies!!!!!

  6. Reblogged this on Clothing Optional and commented:
    Once you go to a nude beach, you get hooked!

    • CarloMario says:

      So true, ClothingOptionalZone. Every time I go to the nude beach I get same feeling I did the first time I bared my body to nature. It’s such a rush.
      Thanks for re-blogging this.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

